Top 10 of the world’s energy:  the short list of nominees for the Global Energy Prize

The Global Energy Association announces the short list of the Global Energy Prize 2017.  It includes the representatives from Australia, Germany, Great Britain, Russia, Spain, Switzerland and USA. Moreover, the names of new laureateswill be made public on April 6. 

186 scientists from 31 countries have contended for the Prize in its XV Anniversary cycle. The top 10 of the most promising researchers was compiled according to the evaluations of the international experts and the working group of the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee.   

Therefore, these scholars have formed the short list: Mateo Valero Cortes (Spain), Dharendra YogiGoswami (USA), MichaelGraetzel (Switzerland), Igor Grekhov (Russia) Martin Andrew Green (Australia), Elon Musk (USA), YuryOganessian (Russia), Victor Orlov (Russia), Hans Joachim Schellnhuber (Germany), Henry James Snaith (UK).  

It is noteworthy that five scientists of the top 10 specialize in the field of renewable sources of energy. The second “popular” field belongs to electric power industry, and the third place goes tonuclear power.

All candidates` research studies and innovationsnominated for the Global Energy Prize are extremely important for solving the problems facing humanity, including reductionof energy costs, development of new energy saving technologies, as well as search for new energy sources.

Here are brief descriptions of the achievements of the top 10 scientists:

Mateo Valero Cortes advocates for decreasing the energy consumption of the IT industry. In particular, he produced significant results in energy-efficient Central Processing Units (CPUs). CPUs are the most power-consuming component of an IT system, so any CPU energy savings are highly valuable.

Dr. Dharendra YogiGoswami  has done his works in the area of solar thermal power. His solar photo-electrochemical disinfection technology has resulted in new indoor air disinfection device, the world’s first molecular air purifier, which alleviated the allergic and asthmatic sufferings. 

MichaelGraetzel is an inventor and developer of dye-sensitized solar cells, called “Graetzel  cells”. The experts are convinced that this invention may lay the foundation for the future energy technologies. The “Graetzel cells” are aimed at playing a significant role in creating cheap, large scaled technical solutions to obtain renewable energy. 

Igor Grekhovhas developed and implemented semiconductor devices for ultrafast switching of high power.

Martin Andrew Green has made researches and developments in the field of photovoltaics that have dramatically reduced costs of the solar energy transformation to the electric power, significantly increasing its deployment on a global scale.

Elon Muskwas nominated for his exceptional management and scientific efforts to bring the new ecologically clean electric car concept for the modern civilization.

YuryOganessian has discovered a series of new super heavy elements in the Mendeleev`s periodic table. Thanks to these elements, it is possible to create a fundamentally new nuclear power engineeringin the future, which will be less dangerous in comparison to the traditional one, and will not have such a large amount of hazardous waste. Perhaps, the planet`s energy problems may be solved in this way.

Victor Orlov has made a fundamental research concerning development of the innovative energy technology based on the fast reactors with a heavy metal coolant and the closed fuel cycle, generating new opportunities for nuclear energy development.

Henry James Snaithhas created a technology on the use of perovskites (relatively rare for the Earth’s surface minerals) as the basis for very efficient low cost solar cells. 

Hans Joachim Schellnhuber has significantly advanced both the scientific understanding of the rate and extent of climate change, and has defined many of the key policy opportunities for nations to act to develop environmentally, socially, and politically sustainable energy and economic systems.

The Global Energy Prize International Award Committee meetingwill be held in Moscowon April 4. Twenty prominent and authoritative experts from all over the world will decide during the election who of the short-listed nominees will be recognized by the prestigious award.   

More information on these top 10 scientists and their inventions will be unveiled during the press conference. The names of the Global Energy Prize 2017 laureates andthe monetary amount of the Prizewill be announced as well.  

The press conference will be held on April 6 at 11 a.m
Venue: TASS press center, 2 Tverskoyblvd.

For more information, please contact:
Natalia Naumova,
+7 495 739 54 35 

About the Global Energy Prize
The Global Energy Prize, founded in 2002, is awarded to the most accomplished minds in the research world. The honorees are awarded the Global Energy Prize with a monetary prize of 39 million rubles. According to the Global Energy Prize Statute, the Prize is awarded by the President of the Russian Federation or by an authorized person in Saint Petersburg.